LDEO DEIA Committee

The Committee on Diversity Equity Inclusion and Anti-Racism was established in 2021. This Committee is charged with the important task of helping to create and uphold a safe working environment, that fosters a diverse, nurturing, and vibrant community founded upon the fundamental dignity and worth of all of its members. Building on the work of the Lamont Diversity Equity and Inclusion (LDEI) Task Force, the DEIA Committee has the goals of helping advance Lamont in three key areas: (1) supporting the inclusion and success of historically underrepresented groups in geoscience including Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC); (2) ensuring a research and teaching environment free from explicit and implicit discrimination and bias; and (3) creating a safe and welcoming campus where everyone thrives and is respected.

Committee Members include:

  • Vicki Ferrini, Associate Director for DEIA (Chair)
  • Sharon Cooper, MLP
  • Margie Turrin, MPG
  • Jennifer Middleton, GEO
  • Joerg Schaefer, GEO
  • Hannah Sweets, MPG
  • Nicole deRoberts, Sr. Manger Academic Affairs (Ex Officio)

Past Members:

  • Arianna Varuolo-Clarke, OCP (2021-2023)
  • Roger Creel, SGT (2021-2023)
  • Qiang Yang, GEO (2021-2022)
  • Michelle Guitard, BPE (2021-2023)
  • Kerry Key, MGG(MPG)/DEES (2021-2022)
  • Mackenzie Carr, Asstistant Director DEIA (Ex Officio) (2022-2023)