Seminar Diversity Initiative

The Seminar Diversity Initiative is aimed at bringing diverse speakers to Lamont for scientific seminars, and at promoting greater understanding and awareness on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in STEM fields. It includes the organizers of various scientific seminars at Lamont, both divisional and Lamont-wide. This initiative complements our Diversity Seminar Initiative, which brings diverse speakers to Lamont to talk about diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Kailani Acosta

Spearheaded by graduate student Kailani Acosta, the goals of the Seminar Diversity Initiative are:

1. To support at least 3 underrepresented minority (URM) speakers per year in each of our five research divisions

2. To increase the number of women, other genders, and non-binary speakers

3. To increase visibility and representation of URM speakers

Speaker Demographics:

Gender: For the 2019-2020 year, around 45% of speakers identified as women.

Race & Ethnicity: For the 2019-2020 year, around 39% of speakers were from underrepresented groups, with 17% identifying as Hispanic/Latinx, 14% identifying as Asian, and 8% identifying as Black.

For gender composition of invited speakers in previous years (data on race/ethnicity were not formally requested) check out our LDEO Demographics page


For Seminar Speakers

Our seminar presentations typically run about 45 minutes followed by 10 minutes of questions. The audience is comprised mostly of students, postdocs, and faculty, usually from the Research Division in which you are presenting, but these presentations are open to the entire Lamont community. If you are available all day, we usually schedule additional meetings with graduate students, post docs, and faculty before and/or after your talk. ***Due to the pandemic, seminars for the 2020-21 year are expected to be virtual***

Notes for Speakers:

  • We would welcome hearing about any broader impacts/outreach and DEI work that you and/or your groups have done, even if it is not directly related to the scientific research presented in your talk

  • Please include your email, website, twitter, and any other platform that you would like others to see

  • Before your visit, let us know if you would like the seminar recorded


Contact

This initiative is spearheaded by Kailani Acosta: kailani.acosta@columbia.edu. The full list of divisional seminar organizers are:

Biology & Paleo Environment Seminar:

Kailani Acosta: kailani.acosta@columbia.edu

Rachel Lupien: rlupien@ldeo.columbia.edu

Rose Oelkers: roelkers@ldeo.columbia.edu

Jonathan Lambert: lambert@ldeo.columbia.edu

Ocean & Climate Physics Seminar:

Carson Witte: cwitte@ldeo.columbia.edu

Kai Kornhuber: kk3397@columbia.edu

Marine Geology & Geophysics/ Seismology, Geology, and Tectonophysics (MGG-SGT) Joint Seminar:

Renata Constantino: constantino@ldeo.columbia.edu

Andrew Lloyd: andrewl@ldeo.columbia.edu

Guy Paxman: gpaxman@ldeo.columbia.edu

Seth Saltiel: saltiel@ldeo.columbia.edu

Geochemistry Seminar:

Alexandra Balter: ab4695@columbia.edu

Celeste Pallone: cpallone@ldeo.columbia.edu

Craig Connolly: connolly@ldeo.columbia.edu

Matthew Jerram: mjerram@ldeo.columbia.edu

Geodynamics Seminar:

Jacky Austermann: jackya@ldeo.columbia.edu

Terry Plank: tplank@ldeo.columbia.edu

Christine McCarthy: mccarthy@ldeo.columbia.edu

Lamont-Doherty Earth Science Colloquium:

(Coordinator) Kevin Uno:  kevinuno@ldeo.columbia.edu 

Tanner Acquisto, MGG: t.acquisto@columbia.edu

Shanice Bailey, OCP: sbailey@ldeo.columbia.edu

Alexandra Balter, Geochemistry: ab4695@columbia.edu

Clara Chang, BPE: cchang@ldeo.columbia.edu

Sarah Giles, SGT: smg2258@columbia.edu

Joohee Kim, Geochemistry: joohee@ldeo.columbia.edu